The Brain Candy Experiment – Part 1/3

If you’ve found this via a search engine and are looking for a full product review of Biotest Brain Candy, make sure you check out Part 2 where I outline it all for you. If you’re looking for a review of the caffeine free version go HERE.

Oh my god you’re thinking…WTF is Adrian experimenting on/with/about now?

You have no idea. I’ve got so much on the go all the time and so many things in stages of plans being realized that my life is the experiment. Whoa, revelation right there. Life: the point is to experiment. I must digress…

Right now I have 3 major experiments going on. The Grip4orce Experiment (almost done), the Zero to Zen Project (which I’ve not announced yet but soon!) and now The Brain Candy Experiment.

Yep, the picture was taken in the dark at 6am when this puppy got slammed!

What is Brain Candy? It’s the latest dietary supplement made by Biotest. It’s a once-per-day liquid 125mL shot designed to optimize brain function, increase confidence, reduce social anxiety, improve mood, increase productivity and create sustained energy with no crash.

In other words it’s Biotest’s real-world rendition of the fictional drug which the fantastic movie Limitless was based on.

Seriously, watch this movie!

Why the Experiment? Well, one I like to try new supplements, especially when Biotest is the producer. They make quality stuff. I mean I’m pretty sure I’ve tried 80% of their entire line at some point in time and would say 50% of that is damn good. That’s saying a lot in the bodybuilding supplement realm of b.s. potions and claims.

Secondly, I’m a high functioning individual already. I ALWAYS have stuff on my mind. For every action I take I generally find one to two more I can build on. Every personal training session I have leads to an idea, a lesson learned, another action I’d committed myself to for myself and/or my clients. I’m present and accounted for in my relationship. I keep tabs on people in my life as much as my time allows. Plus, I’m truly an introvert who needs my down time to survive this crazy life. So either I adopt a 36 hour day (anyone know where I can find one?), adjust my schedule to bi-phasic sleep (man I’d love to do that!), give up sleeping entirely (tried that this past year; didn’t work so well) or I find ways to do more, become more productive and manage the challenges I take on and must face.

Here’s some info that goes into this: I have mild bipolar disorder. I’ve never taken prescriptions for it. I’ve learned to live with and mostly even love it. I’m a night owl. An introvert. I’m forced to pretend to be an “alpha-male” in my job as I’m the one in control even though that’s not really who I am in “real life”. I’m just a quiet dude who takes on various roles and personalities to achieve my goals and dreams. I am highly reactive to most quality nutritional supplements. You know those people who nothing works on? I’m the opposite. I feel everything, placebo perhaps I’m sure sometimes. I’m very reactive to stimulants. I love stimulants. 300mg of caffeine turns me right crackhead-ish, chatting like a 12 year old school girl. I’m also an information hub, taking in, processing, dispensing, demystifying, attacking, challenging, questioning, reevaluating and laughing at regularly. Lastly, and of signficant note, I’ve faced adrenal fatigue many times in my life. All self inflicted, of course, from lack of sleep, over-exercising, lack of nutrition and my enjoyment of caffeine (I don’t drink coffee – gross).

As far as nootropics/brain function/brain hormone supplements are concerned I’ve used and gotten to understand the plusses and minuses of this list for myself: Gingko biloba, DMAE, Biotest’s Power Drive, L-tyrosine, Syntrax’s old supplement called Cerebro (man I miss that stuff), vinpocetine, hyperzine-A, phenibut, 5-HTP, melatonin, valerian root, phosphatidylserine and probably others I can’t recall right now. But the point is I’ve tried a few and know what’s decent and what’s garbage.

Here’s the thing: I’m very content with my life. If I died right now, this instant, I’d be totally happy with how it’s all gone thus far. But I always want more. I know, deep inside of myself, that I’ve got a lot to offer, that I want to offer. I want to teach. I find no coincidence in the pattern of how others come into my life at a moment when they are at a crossroads, epiphany or change in their lives. There’s been some major blocks though: time, energy, motivation and perhaps at times confidence.

Enter Brain Candy…

It promises the solution and I am here to put Biotest on the stand and prove it to me!

How I’ll run this experiment:

I have purchased 2 cases of the original Brain Candy (the orangy flavored, 300mg caffeine containing version; the only one available to the public at the time of this blog’s release). This will last me about 30 days (I gave a couple away).

I’m currently on day 3. I made notes thus far on my experience and it goes as such:

Day 1:

Brain Candy taken as single shot at 6:24am after 5.5hrs sleep (mind you I had 1.5hrs deep sleep, 1.5hrs REM sleep and a ZQ score of 69 which is high on all accounts versus the total time slept; more info to come on these numbers and how I get them when I unleash the Zero to Zen project soon!)

7am Caffeine shot, right to middle of my forehead, eyeballs POPPING out like BANG WAKE UP DAMMIT!

7:30am Leg warm up begins…

9:30am Leg workout done (push hard, hit 15lbs PR on front squat). This leg workout is disgusting. I’m not comparing against others in the world but I’m saying this f*ing workout destroyed me and my workout partner. Crawling up the stairs, shaking to drink my post-workout protein type of leg workout.

11am Starting to fade but calm, able to stay collected but leg workout destruction really taxing me.

2pm SO DAMN TIRED!

2:30pm Chiropractor visit. A lot was adjusted (which usually beats me up anyway).

3pm Went home to do work for a bit before second work block but so completely and utterly exhausted, needed to nap for 90mins which never happens.

5:30pm Back at work, dragging my ass, stressed, can’t focus.

7pm Break, very articulate now and able to demonstrate complex exercise (clean variations to a newb).

8:15pm Taught my ladies only class and was fantastic, energy was better, mood good, articulate.

11pm Finished emails and web surfing, brain shuts down.

Day 1 Overall: Roughest day I’ve had in a very long time! Terrible day. Could be the 300mg caffeine in Brain Candy which is overkill for me, could be that retarded leg workout, could be lack of sleep; could be all of it. No way to tell. On the positive side, even though my energy was shit, I was able to articulate well and maybe because of this others may not have noticed my fatigue.

Day 2:

Brain Candy slammed as single shot at 8am after 7hrs sleep (1hr deep sleep, 2hrs REM, ZQ score 77)

8:30am Eye’s popping out feeling again. Psycho crystal clear thinking BUT told girlfriend “I feel like a crackhead” because I’m so jittery. Uncomfortably so.

9:30am Brain even more alert, jitters still overkill. Stomach upset from Brain Candy. Wasn’t sure if that was it first day but after feeling it again today I’m sure it’s the supplement as it’s taken on an empty stomach upon waking.

12noon Energy VERY high, jitters gone, thermogenic (heat/sweating), extremely clear and able to articulate.

9:30pm Energy still high, appetite was low (bad for someone trying to gain weight and who already doesn’t have an appetite), mind very clear.

11:30pm Clear enough to write a blog which requires much detail. I sorta made myself a rule that I won’t write any work related emails or other communique beyond 10pm anymore as it’s usually a spelling and focus disaster. Still not tired, hard to calm down and shut brain off. Of serious note, my typical bipolar down phase hasn’t even popped up (it usually starts around 8-10pm).

Day 2 Overall: Makes a thinker more of a thinker which can be distracting. Worried about ability to shut off. Mood was high/positive. Suspect if one made exact plans for the day I’d get even more done. Scary thought.

Day 3:

Brain Candy single shot slammed at 8:15am after 6.5hrs sleep (1:52 deep {highest ever! Mind you I did take 1.5mg melatonin which I do use about 2-5x/week}, 2:08 REM sleep, ZQ score 86; all VERY high). Was VERY tough to wake up this morning, extremely groggy but I’d attribute that more to the melatonin.

8:35am Feel the rush coming on, instant not tired feeling. I’m a talk to myself all the time (sometimes even out loud) person (I’m going to make an awesome senile person!) as is but while styling hair in pops voice “Oh yea MF, gonna own this day today!”

9am Jitter city again. Smack in the forehead, eyes popping out feeling again. Information processing rate (visual, clarity of thought, iPhone texting speed) all disgustingly high!

5:30pm Good to go, workout time. Thought for a moment about not even using Surge Workout Fuel or pre-workout drink Neurocore but wanted to murder my chest workout so took anyway. Able to add 50 push ups to finisher over last week’s 200 which destroyed me. Took less time to complete versus last weeks 200 as well. Instead of being trashed I was like what’s next! Scary thing when you get in the mode of: I could have kept going…forever!

9pm Crazy productive when I got home. Still no drop in energy, no post workout crash either. Brain sharp!! Ready to blog.

11pm Blogging this. Don’t see myself stopping any time soon even though I gotta be up at 5am.

Day 3 and so far overall opinion: I’m VERY impressed with this Brain Candy stuff. I’m going to test the hell out of it for the remaining 27 days and get back to you in Part 2 at the half way point and obviously wrap it up in Part 3. For days 6, 7, 8, 9 & 10 I am going to try dumping the Brain Candy into my 2.3L Nalgene water bottle (which usually takes me 2.5-4hrs to finish my first one of my day) to see how a slower “delivery” into the body affects the jitter level and effectiveness of the product.

Stay tuned…

Will Adrian become Limitless?

Check Part 2 here and the wrap up, Part 3 here

BTW, you can now find me on:

Instagram @adriancroweathletictraining

Facebook page at Adrian Crowe Athletic Training “The Crowe’s Nest”

YouTube www.youtube.com/acathletictraining

or email me directly at adrian@adriancrowe.com

8 comments on “The Brain Candy Experiment – Part 1/3

  1. Rob King says:

    Great blog and review..love it.

    I have Brain Candy on the way, I’ll model what you did i love the mood/focus/energy feedback…

    Cheers

    Rob
    http://www.RobKingFitness.com

  2. Pete says:

    Looking forward to your third week results. I noticed some diminsihing effect in my second week.

  3. […] sorta, but not really is the short answer. I called that sh*t in Part 1, there was bound to be a serious flaw to this product in relation to the ridiculous 300mg caffeine […]

  4. Very good information. Lucky me I found your website by accident (stumbleupon).
    I’ve saved it for later!

  5. […] go read my Brain Candy series here: Part 1, Part 2 and Part 3. It’ll take you a whole of 10 […]

  6. […] You can also read about one man’s experiences (over several months) using the Biotest product Brain Candy here at Adrian Crowe’s blog. […]

Leave a Reply

