Life Altering Wisdom (“If something is important, do it every day”) – Part 14

If you’ve not already checked out the previous entries to this series go here: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6Part 7, Part 8, Part 9, Part 10, Part 11Part 12 and Part 13.

There’s a laundry list of stuff we do every day that is completely useless. Like television. Is it really enriching your life that much? Sometimes I think so. Other times I come to the realization that it’s an escape from my busy day. An hour before bed calms me down and shuts my overactive mind down.

Have you ever thought or said to someone “you know, that whole reading thing you do is such a waste of time.”

Probably not.

Reading, daily for enjoyment

 

There are two things I don’t think I do near enough of in life: sleep and read for enjoyment. I’ll get to the mega sleep topic later in this series. But along the lines of writing every day, improving your vocabulary, ability to communicate and making  you smarter in general this goes hand-in-hand with reading.

Now somehow I doubt reading People magazine or any other mind-smut really counts in what I’m talking about here. If you want that crap go try: www.wwtdd.com (not safe for work!)

Now, along the lines of my last blog, re: buying your intentions, last year one of my best purchases was the Kindle 3 (now called the Kindle Keyboard). Now there are about 5 viable ereaders on the market so we’re starting to see even the most avid of readers making the switch from paper to eink type technologies. Why? Why not? You can store 100+ books in one small space, it’s uber easy on the eyes and if you’re a little ADHD you can easily have a dozen books on the go at one time. And with most ereaders going between $75 and $200 it’s affordable to most.

But shame on me, it was one of those intentions I bought and just never got around to. I read a few books and that was it. I just got “busy” doing other stuff. Here’s the really scary part: I have upwards of 500 ebooks already in my library just begging for a read by yours truly. It damn right pisses me off every single time I cross that folder where they’re all sitting on the proverbial shelf collecting dust.

It’s knowledge my brain could use, hours of enjoyment abound and enlightenment one step at a time. And it’s all just waiting for me to do the easiest thing: turn the computer off, turn the tv off and go read for a half hour before bed.

Give it some thought, what are you wasting time on right now? Oh, yea, reading my blog. But when you’re done with that, what’s next? Looking for a good read? My top 3: The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin, Hagakure: The Way of the Samurai, and The Angel Inside (or any of Chris Widener’s books; try Twelve Pillars too). I don’t care for fiction, but if I had to pick try this series: The Giver, Gathering Blue, & Messenger.

This entry was posted in OPINION.

Leave a Reply

