Life Altering Wisdom (“If something is important, do it every day”) – Part 13

If you’ve not already checked out the previous entries to this series go here: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6Part 7, Part 8, Part 9, Part 10, Part 11, and Part 12.

Okay, it’s post-Christmas and I have a serious food hangover. Who knew chocolates and turkey doesn’t mix; two nights in a row none-the-less. Go figure. I was spoiled by friends and family this year with presents, fantastic meals and some super fun family time. I learned something I’d always sorta pondered anyway. We, every day:

Buy Your Intentions

We do the whole secret Santa thing for Christmas presents. It’s great. You hand in your wish list, take the wish list of whomever’s name you drew and come the big day it’s a lot of fun watching all the wrapping paper fly about.

I drew my gal’s brother’s name (let’s call him D) and on his wish list was the latest video game: Skyrim. It’s funny, a few weeks ago I read someone’s Facebook post about the game to the effect of “if you value a social life, don’t buy Skyrim.” At dinner the other night my brother and I got on the discussion of the new 80″ television on the market. 80 friggin inches!!! Who the hell has eyes that bad? I’m blind as a bat and still would never buy a television that big. Other friends got PVR’s for gifts. Some got clothes. Some bought skiing and snowboarding gear. Some got kitchen appliances.

 

Does what we buy say something about our intentions? Of course it does! How could it not.

The person who sets out on boxing day to scoop up a brand new 60″ television intends to sit on their ass and get lots of use out of it. The dude who went out and bought all new snowboard bindings, gear and boots plans to get on the sloops and carve out some serious powder. The couple that bought each other the wicked Travel Roller, plan to improve their health and athletic performance and find yet another way to take care of their bodies. I watched D play his new Skyrim game last night for two hours (without remotely realizing that much time had passed) and he’s got about 500 more hours worth he’ll be spending playing it. My bro hooked up a sweet Boxing Day deal of $24 for the latest Norton Antivirus software package for himself and me too. Guess it means him and I intend to spend more time on the internet.

What about everything else in life? What about that trip to the grocery store? Is what I put in my cart not a complete representation of how I intend to eat? So if it’s all crap, does that not mean I’m intending to eat crappy?

Maybe I should have made the trip down to Heritage Meats  (for the yummy ostrich steaks) and the farmer’s market for veggies instead? If I bought more gym clothes or nutritional supplements does that not mean I intend to workout more? What about buying a gym pass? Or personal training sessions? Or signing up for a 1/2 marathon in Spring? Or the Spartan Race coming up!?

Every dollar you spend says everything about what you intend to do, eat…become.

Spend it wisely!

Me, and my Christmas wish list? I scored this:

Damn right! I plan on setting a whole bunch of PR’s this coming year!

This entry was posted in OPINION.

5 comments on “Life Altering Wisdom (“If something is important, do it every day”) – Part 13

  1. Tammy Hartmann says:

    I enjoyed this post. I absolutely agree that what one buys has some bearing on WHAT one does and WHO one is. I laughed when I read the part about the couple who bought each other ‘travel rollers’–that’s us! I am a very conscious shopper, especially when it comes to food and exercise. I want the BEST value for my money. Your blogs provide such an added value to our personal training sessions. I feel very tired today–haven’t worked out since Christmas Eve, but am heading to the gym shortly and THEN will hike up Soames–a fantastic view at the top. I am once again inspired and motivated. I don’t know WHERE you find the time to do all the writing you do, Adrian. You are my hero. Enjoy the rest of the holidays and I hope YOU get some down time, doing what you love to do (which is no doubt…work out and write!) Ho, ho, ho!

  2. Valuable details and exceptional style you got here! I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and time into the stuff you post!! Thumbs up

  3. […] store to begin with but even worse if you do so when you’re hungry. I’ve said it before: BUY YOUR INTENTIONS. I’m a closet grocery cart snooper. I judge you buy what’s in your cart and it usually shows […]

  4. […] that supposedly love you and support you? What if you got rid of all the toxic people in your life? What if you spent your money better? What would happen if I wasn’t capable of complaining ever again? What if you stopped sleeping in […]

  5. […] grocery stores, butcher shop, and farmer’s markets to stock up. I’ve said it before, you buy your intentions! And if your eating patterns for this entire year thus far have not worked for you, step up and […]

Leave a Reply

