Low Level Aches, Pains and Dysfunction – Easy Fixes

Let me tell you about my first day as a freshly hired personal trainer:

First day: you know the day where the company you’ve been hired by walks you through their procedures, shows you how to bill, do the paperwork, and introduce you to the staff and your supervisors.

NOPE, not how it went AT All. Instead the awesome boss I had (I mean that, he was the coolest guy ever!) asked if I was up for taking my first client. “Hell yea!” I proclaimed. “Good, one problem, he doesn’t speak any English.”

But he assured me that he was a cool young dude and that he picks up on stuff really well. Okay, so I did it. And you know what? It was a blast! In fact, the following week I go to train his sister who had a knee injury/limitation and also couldn’t speak English (they were from Mexico on vacation). Try explaining something to a client with no words. If any of you have seen my YouTube videos you’ll note I’m very hand and face gesture expressive. Trust me, it works!

Let me get this straight, right off the bat. I have ZERO certification in rehabbing injuries. ZERO. The extent of my knowledge has been a few things: my own injuries and how I’ve gone about healing them, what drills the numerous physiotherapists and chiros I’ve seen have taught me about my own injuries and just plain common sense that if this hurts don’t do that but keep working at getting back to “normal” over time.

Here’s another thing I’ve had to learn the hard way: there are no perfectly healthy clients. I have maybe had two or three people tell me in the consult that they have no injuries or dysfunctions, but in each circumstance upon movement assessment there always comes to light something. “Oh yea, I rolled that ankle a half-dozen times when I played soccer a few years back.” Riiiiiight, so that’s why your ankle mobility sucks!

Point is that all good trainers at some point have to do “pre-habilitative”, “corrective”, or “rehabilitative” work on their clients. The trick is to know when it’s outside your scope of practice (meaning you and I have NO business diagnosing and prescribing an exercise for some injury), outside my pay grade (eg. for me, working with an elite level pro-athlete) or simply that you don’t feel 100% confident in what you’re doing. In these cases you refer out to the network of therapists you should have for this circumstance.

So where’s the line? That’s a tough one and I believe it comes down to what you’ve actually done and actually know, not what you think you know. And here’s what I do know: I’ve run across situations (say like in above example of rolled ankle = crappy ankle mobility) and run across an “easy fix” drill that seems to do some serious good for the client (or myself). That’s what I know and it’s causal. This situation plus this action = this positive result.

So without further ado, I introduce my series of videos talking about these quick fixes:

Here’s what I wrote as the YouTube Playlist description for this series. You’d be wise to listen to it:

“These are exercise drills I’ve run across over the years that have helped me and my clients overcome basic aches and pains or dysfunction. If you have a serious issue, don’t be a tough guy (or girl) about it, stop watching YouTube for answers and go see a physiotherapist! Any questions or issues you have and would like answered shoot me a message!”

Stiff Ankles: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ALJfvZQG38

Tight And Weak Hip Flexors: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wLBhvikSoKI

Shoulder Internal Rotation (“Angel/Scapula Winging”): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ivz6vV4_0ss

Shoulder Protraction (Slouching): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LhuRcdGxs3g

Lack of Shoulder Fluidity (“Stickiness”): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nJsIspcTvGw

I’ll add more videos as I go along in this series but again, hear me when I say these are NOT FIXES TO SERIOUS ISSUES. These are just drills that can address less complicated and minor aches and pains (example: a rolled ankle).

If you have a minor situation you’d like me to tackle, shoot me a comment below.

And if you’ve not already subscribed to the YouTube Channel: www.youtube.com/acathletictraining you should! And click the Follow button on the right side of this blog to get an email each time I put up a new entry!

2 comments on “Low Level Aches, Pains and Dysfunction – Easy Fixes

  1. tywall says:

    One I’d like to add to the list:

    Anterior Pelvic tilt

    (or posterior, but I don’t care about them at the moment 🙂 )

    • Adrian Crowe says:

      I’ll add it to the list when I come out with part 2. I will say though, anterior pelvic tilt is a system of issues that don’t fit neatly into a “quick fix.” I will however get a vid of this shortly to show a couple of drills I like to use for clients with this situation.

Leave a Reply

