Life Altering Wisdom (“If something is important, do it every day”) – Part 11

If you’ve not already checked out the previous entries to this series go here: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6Part 7, Part 8, Part 9 and Part 10

Obviously, this is something near and dear to my heart (figuratively and literally!):

Exercise Daily

My job is exercise, period. On average I deadlift, push up, pull up and do countless “core” exercises frequently during my day, all while talking about how and why to, which those in the business know, is way harder than just doing the exercise. So maybe I should join the ranks of unfit personal trainers? Doesn’t make sense to you?

So why are there scores of labour workers, nurses, and any other job where someone is “active” using this stupid compensation of their job being enough exercise to not need to perform any other exercise.

Look, don’t get me twisted, last Wednesday I worked 6am-9pm (literally!) and saw 11 clients. I didn’t workout. But that day was not the norm for me, it’s actually a lot closer to 8-12hrs usually. And I was destroyed after being on my feet that long, demonstrating, talking, cleaning and outpouring energy. There wasn’t anything left for exercise so I didn’t; so I understand that you may have tough days, but the excuse you can’t fit in 30 minutes of exercise into your day is absurd.

Don’t worry though, you’ll have time to exercise when you’re dead, and if you keep skipping out you’ll be getting there a lot faster too!

What Type of Exercise

 Step 1: think 30 minutes a day. Step 2: what can you actually do? Step 3: can you motivate yourself to do it? If not you need a workout buddy or to hire a trainer. Step 4: Slowly but consistently increase intensity over time to a level you can fully recover from. For me personally, I can do insane workouts 3 times a week for 1.5-2 hours and the other 3-4 days it’s about 30 minutes of high intensity circuits like this or this. Any more than that and I don’t have the capacity to do my job, be a good other half, and get other things done that matter. Step 5: Repeat, Assess.

Repeat, Assess

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve built a take-away program for someone to follow and for about 3 weeks I see that person coming into the gym working it like a badass. And then they disappear.

I made the mistake many times earlier in my career where I would do a consult with a new client, hear what their goals and motivation levels were and proceed to create the program I felt would best suit them. I would take the client through it 1-2 times before they went on their own (to do at their own gym usually) and the client would love it. “It’s exactly as hard as I wanted to be pushed!”

So when I’d contact the client 3-4 weeks later to ensure everything is on track and see when they feel they could use a change (the boredom gradient each trainer must consider), too many times the answer was “well, ….. {insert any excuse you’d like here}…”

I had to learn to either dumb down my programming or make it slightly easier than what the person’s initial desires were. Something new trainers would save themselves a lot of frustration in considering as well.

So…coming back to the point…

Repeat your workouts as often as prescribed (or self committed to), but every week assess if your energy, mood, focus, and goals are the same. As variables change in your life, many a time it will throw you off track.

Now, most of the time the answer is “Buck up, stop being a wussy! Just get it done! Sacrifice for what you want in your life!!”

For the times that doesn’t fit the bill and your assessment tells you that you misjudged some factor previously unseen, change, adapt, grow, continue putting in work! It’s no secret that those that work the most consistent over time achieve the most. Those that work hard for short periods of time and then fall off regularly achieve little  over time. I know that story all too well, it was once my own.

Why You Should Exercise Each Day

Now, I was going to drop you about a dozen facts about health, exercise and how it’s all tied together but I ran across a video (gotta love YouTube and Facebook for stuff like this) that just does the job better than I could ever hope to. And it will resonate with a much greater audience than just my fitness savvy niche (show your grandmother the video). Everyone should watch this video!!!

So without further ado, take the 9 minutes to watch this (and if you’re smart you use your smartphone to do so while walking)!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aUaInS6HIGo

“I Want To But…”

I get it. It’s my job to get you through this phase. Just trust me here: start anywhere (even a 30 minute walk each day). Want to feel instantly better follow along with this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l5ez8uALRDM

Want more, just subscribe to my YouTube channel (or visit back often) for workout ideas, including free full programs you can do in your home with little or no equipment!! I put a couple up each month at least!

Go there now: www.youtube.com/acathletictraining

If that’s just not easy enough for you, shoot me a comment or question below and I’ll do my best to help you out!

This entry was posted in OPINION.

Leave a Reply

