Life Altering Wisdom (“If something is important, do it every day”) – Part 4

If you’ve not already checked out the previous entries to this series go here: Part 1, Part 2 and Part 3

Remember, the context of this series is the gem of wisdom I ran across:

“If something is important, do it every day”

I’m going to cover a less heady subject today: Hygiene/Appearance/Body Maintenance

I like to take care of my body. I’m not crazy about it and I’ll let my face get a little scruffy (more so cuz my gal hates when I baby-face it). But somewhere between gross and obsessed is a happy medium.

Yikes! How dare he screw up the symmetry of his chin fuzz like that. Disgrace!

Some things are a given. We should shower every day, we should brush our teeth every day (read this!), we should change our underwear every day. But let’s talk cars for a moment:

Have you every been in someone’s vehicle that looked more like a homeless person’s house than a machine used for transportation?

You have to wonder if they treat a $20,000+ item like this just how their body looks “under the hood” so to speak. I know it frightens the hell outta me when I see girls like this. Imagine how messy the rest may be under the hood.

So should a person be set to some standard to wax, pluck, shave and perfect everything? Pulease, who the hell has the time for that nonsense?

But I will say this about the subject of hygiene: I firmly believe in the concept of “pride of ownership”.

I apply that idea to everything I do. I’m proud of the $20k worth of gym equipment I own. I take care of it as best I can for my clients and myself. I also have pride in my body and how well I take care of it. That doesn’t mean I don’t eat junk food, or don’t do things that are hard on my body, but when it comes to the basics, like just being clean, I’m big on that.

So how do we apply hygiene, appearance and body maintenance to this theory of “if something is important, do it every day”?

Well, I think (this is an opinion article afterall), we will gain a better pride of ownership which relates to better confidence and respect from others if I do something small to take care of my vehicle: my body. Today it may be my toenails really could use a trim. Tomorrow it may be that I finally do like the shampoo bottle suggest and massage the product into my hair and let it sit there for 5 minutes. The night after that I may take an epsom salt bath. The next morning in the shower I may take the pumice stone and scrub off my feet calluses. Whatever…I just “detail” my body in some small way every day to ensure it’s running in good condition and keeps well.

Because really, who the hell wants a scrub for a partner? I’ve never had a woman tell me I was gross. Well, maybe after working out, but that’s just man funk. Take care of yourself. It’s not that hard.

Oh, and if your hands are suffering like mine are in this dry air weather this is BY FAR the best hand cream I’ve run across. I can slap it on and 30 seconds later do pull ups, no problem. And it’s the only cream I’ve found that actually keeps hands moisturized (not greasy) after washing your hands with soap many times. Heals cracking hands like magic!

Oh, and clean up your damn vehicle already!

This entry was posted in OPINION.

One comment on “Life Altering Wisdom (“If something is important, do it every day”) – Part 4

  1. […] prep my food for the next day so my meals are not up to snuff. I didn’t get to do all the hygiene things I intended. I may miss a workout because I’m just too damn exhausted. I’m not as […]

Leave a Reply

